top of page
  • Destiny Taylor

New Media and Communications Online Course

This month I was enrolled in a New Media and Communication online course. My original goals for the course were to research new media platforms, uncover new ways to deliver news in an intriguing way, and learn what audience members respond to better. I can honestly say I’ve met each goal in the duration of this course.


Digital media is rising in this day and age, a major shift from the traditional print media that was our only source of news for decades. Social media platforms such as Twitter and Instagram are becoming, if not already, the main outlet for breaking news. We’re at a point in time where society lives on the go, so waiting for a 5 o’clock newscast isn’t the most efficient way to get news anymore. Times are changing so the media must evolve with it. On that same note, those same platforms can be used to market and promote your brand.


This course also helped me hone in on the content I want to develop and how I should deliver it. Yes, we may already know if a story is newsworthy or not. But it is how we develop it that’s key. Determining the structure, timeliness and value of a story is crucial in any development process. With that being said, I also learned more about what audiences tend to react better to. Rather its mobile news, radio or television.


All of the above will help me extremely in my professional career. Delivering clean, accurate, and eye-catching content will keep me relevant to my audience. Also, simply knowing what I like and my own habits as an audience member can help me better understand my audience. Knowing their likes and dislikes, wants and needs, will lead me to decide what I should be producing or modifying for them.

Photo courtesy of Google. I do not own the rights to this image.

12 views0 comments

Comments


  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook
bottom of page