top of page
  • Destiny Taylor

Overcoming struggles in the LGBT community

Updated: Apr 29, 2020


Photo courtesy of GivingCompass.org. I do not own the rights to this image.

While self-identification may seem like it comes naturally to everyone, there are many others that often struggle with this. Battling with self-identification is quite common in the LGBT (lesbian, gay, bisexual and tran

sgender) community.


Neil Francis-Cruz, a 30-year-old Disney World employee, said he struggled with self-identification beginning at the age of 11. “My dad was an athlete, my brother and cousins are athletes, so they always tried to get me to play sports too. And I did for a while, but I knew that wasn’t my thing. I knew I wasn’t that guy,” said Francis-Cruz.

“In high school this girl was really into me and we hung out all the time. I thought it was completely platonic until one day she expressed her feelings for me. I felt so bad because I somewhat knew I didn’t like girls in that way. Long story short I told her I was gay and ever since then we’ve been the best of friends. She was the first person to know I was gay. My parents are very religious and that’s one thing they did not believe in. I knew they wouldn’t accept it, so I didn’t tell them,” Francis-Cruz shared.

According to humanrightscampaign.org, 26 percent of LGBT youth say their biggest problems are not feeling accepted by their family, bullying, and a fear of coming out. About 91 percent of LGBT youth say they are out to their close friends, and that their peers do not have a problem with their identity as LGBT. Ashely Taylor, who is also a part of the LGBT community, said she too came out to her friends before she came out to family.

“My family was pretty supportive once I told them. I was a tomboy growing up so it wasn’t really a surprise when I told them. I realized I had nothing to be scared of. For anybody out there that’s scared what their friends or family might say, just know it’s OK to not be accepted. Never deny who you are just stay true to you,” said Taylor.

For anyone dealing with issues related to sexual preference or self-identification,ulifeline.org recommends four tips for overcoming those inner troubles. Tip one is to surround yourself with supportive people. Tip two is to seek help if you’re stressed or feel yourself going into depression. Tip three is to remember it has nothing to do with you. Society will make you feel out of place but remember their opinions don’t matter. Lastly, tip four is to join an advocacy group. This will push you to be around people just like you who have overcame the stigma.


Photo courtesy of HumanRightsCampaign.org. I do not own the rights to this image.


24 views0 comments

Commentaires


  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook
bottom of page