top of page
  • Destiny Taylor

Writing for Interactive Media Online Course

Updated: Dec 13, 2019

As I reflect on this course, I’m very satisfied with the assignments and all the feedback that has been given over the last four weeks. Initially, when I saw the name Writing for Interactive Media, I thought it would be feature writing or learning how to write for magazines.


However, in week one we focused on crafting our own stories for our personal ‘About Me’ pages. This is extremely helpful in any profession. Having the perfect structure to your ‘About Me’ page is crucial because it’s the first thing a potential employer will read about you. In that first week I learned to keep my bio short and sweet, but still to the point and informational. Researching other media professionals about me pages was a great resource to use. I can honestly say I feel confident that my ‘About Me’ page is substantial enough to grab the attention of both an employer and my audience.


Undoubtedly my favorite part of the course was our first story. I had not profiled someone in a long time so while doing so I got that feeling of excitement back. The process of finding a newsworthy story, sources to interview and reading the finished product was very satisfying. When finding a story, sometimes it can be difficult to determine what is newsworthy to you versus what is newsworthy to someone else. The feedback from Professor Cochie and my fellow classmates made me feel as if my story was something to talk about.


Professor Cochie gives the most clear, honest and genuine feedback. Having a professor that is invested in her class can really make the students give more of an effort on assignments. Yes, it is our responsibility to do the work. But professors also have a responsibility of doing their part to keep us motivated and on track. Being that this is an online course, its very important to keep that communication present. Professor Cochie does an awesome job with that and I am very pleased with her teaching style.


Lastly, as the course comes to an end, we are already thinking of the assignments for our next class. In week four we had to outline two additional story ideas that we plan on writing about next. Thinking ahead is a good mindset to have in any profession because it helps you manage your time wisely and avoid any obstacles down the line. All in all, very well put together course.

4 views0 comments

Comentários


  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • Facebook
bottom of page